Guilty

Story: Big secret. There’s a mistake in the Mama Bread recipe in my book. You’re never told when to add the 1/2 cup water and the yeast to the dough. I think of this every time I make Mama Bread (such as pictured, from tonight, with just-harvested garlic chopped inside), and I feel, well, guilty about it. I should fix this error. I will. Eventually. But in the meantime, here’s what you do. Add the water and yeast about five or ten minutes after you add the two cups of boiling water (after that has a chance to cool a bit). That’s it. I feel better now.

Tip: You have to wait two hours between each rising of the dough for Mama Bread, so it can be a long process (although the hands-on work is really quite minimal). Here’s a trick. Start it at about 7 PM. Let it rise once. Punch it down. Go to bed. When you get up, tun the dough out and cut it into 16 rolls or two loaves, let it rise a half hour or so, and then bake it.  I don’t know why it works without the second rising, but it does. Maybe you never need to do the second rising.

Recipe: I vary the Mama Bread recipe all the time. Here’s one idea — cut the oats down to half a cup and add a half cup of chia seeds. This boosts your nutrition a ton, and adds some cute black specks to the bread. Also, if you substitute 2 tablespoons olive oil for the butter, then, voila!, the bread is vegan.

For more stories, tips, and recipes, buy my book on Amazon, available in all global markets in both print and digital forms (instantly-downloadable to all devices). I’m an indie author and your support is greatly appreciated. As always, 10% of all proceeds helps to grow food for those in need. 

One thought on “Guilty

Leave a Reply

